Latest News

Ballyvarley contingent help St Colmans to Ulster Colleges Hurling triumph

08 June 2011

Well done to St Colman's College who won their first Ulster Colleges Hurling title today beating Red High from D'patrick by 2pts to lift the McFarland Cup. That's U14. And there were 11 Ballyvarley hurlers on the squad and team. Good news for the future of club hurling

BT McFarland Cup final

St Colman’s Newry 2-10 St Patrick’s Downpatrick 3-5

St Colman’s Newry collected their first ever Ulster Colleges’ hurling title yesterday in Páirc Esler after a terrific BT McFarland Cup final with another Down school – St Patrick’s Downpatrick.

Downpatrick got a good start with a quick goal and a point from their target man Sean Hardy.  However St Colman’s captain Pearse óg McCrickard’s influence grew as the half progressed and he pointed on five occasions with Kyle Kane adding a sixth for the Newry side.

Daithi Sands however fired in a Downpatrick goal and they held a 2-2 to 0-6 advantage at the break.

Captain Peaseg Mc Crickard and Sean Mc Courty

1-1 from impressive midfielder Robert Ellis on the restart put St Colman’s ahead and they maintained their lead throughout the second half with Michael Jordan forcing home a second goal.

After McCrickard had added 2 frees, St Colman’s led 2-10 to 2-4, but Downpatrick hit back with a beautiful strike to the top-corner from Oisín McManus 5 minutes from time.

Sean Hardy added a point and the crossbar came to St Colman’s rescue in the dying seconds as Downpatrick pushed for a winner.

That winner didn’t come however and St Colman’s, who created football history earlier this year by retaining the Hogan Cup, now have broken new ground with a first ever Ulster Colleges’ hurling crown.

Many players on both sides impressed - Michael Lennon, Declan Rooney, Michael Doran, Tony Dinsmore, Robert Ellis, Kyle Kane, and Pearse Óg McCrickard for St Colman’s and Conan Hynds, Conail Fay, Jake Carville, Cormac Coulter, Daithi Sands, Oisin McManus, Sean Hardy for the Red High – indicating that both schools will make a big contribution to the game in years to come.

St Colman’s : Michael Lennon, Declan Rooney, Michael Doran, Joseph Cunningham, Niall Daly, Conall McNally, Tony Dinsmore, Robert Ellis 1-1, Kyle Kane 0-2, Niall McGreevey, Stephen McKey, Patrick Scullion, Tiarnán McCavanagh, Michael Jordan 1-0, Pearse Óg McCrickard capt 0-7.

Sub : Callum Campbell for N McGreevey.

St Patrick’s : Conan Hynds, Louis McMullan, Conail Fay, Jamie Doran, Niall Smyth, Jake Carville, Pearse Laverty, Cormac Coulter, PJ Davidson, Daithi Sands 1-0, Oisin McManus capt. 1-2, Danny Murray, Declan Merron, Sean Hardy 1-3, Marc Fisher.

Subs : Sean Og O’Rourke for D Merron.

Ref : Frank McDonald (Crossmaglen)

Submitted by: Seamus McAleenan