Latest News

Aghaderg Perform Well At St Judes All-Ireland Junior Football Sevens

25 September 2013

On Saturday 21st September Aghaderg footballers made their debut in the All-Ireland Junior Football Sevens organised by the St Judes club in Dublin. 
Despite having no experience in playing 7's and lacking the physique of the other teams Aghaderg's players represented the club and County with distinction. 

The 20 teams were divided into 4 groups and Aghaderg were drawn in group 2 beside 
Raheny (Dublin),
St James (Cork),
Clonmare (Offaly) and
Kenmare (Kerry)
with each match 10 minutes per half. 

In the first game against Raheny the Reds were in arrears at half-time 0-3 to 1-2 however they produced a superb second-half to record a 2-8 to 1-5 win against their illustrious Dublin opponents.  The goals were scored by Thomas Lennon, yes Thomas Lennon, and Rory McShane.
Game 2 was against St James' and once again the Reds caused an upset when they won the match 2-11 to 3-3. 
Chris and Aaron McAvoy got the goals.  
Game 3 saw the Reds face a formidable and experienced Clonmare team that had won the shield competition in 2012 however for Aghaderg it was just another game and once again they responded to the challenge and recorded a magnificent 3-8 to 4-3 win that guaranteed a quarter final place in the cup competition. 
The goal scorers were Aaron McAvoy and Michael Fitzpatrick (2).  
The final group game saw Aghaderg play unbeaten Kenmare, with both teams through to the quarter finals the game although played at a fast pace it did not have the intensity of the previous three games.  Kenmare, who reached the 2012 All-Ireland Junior Football Championship final, led this game 2-6 to 1-3 at half-time before winning 5-9 to 2-6.  
Once again Aaron McAvoy and Michael Fitzpatrick were the goal scorers.
In the quarter final Aghaderg played a very impressive Kiltane from Mayo, Kiltane had easily won their 4 games in group 1, scoring on average 7 goals per game. 
With the Aghaderg squad now feeling the effects of 4 tough games Kiltane punished the slightest mistake and progressed to a semi-final spot on a 7-9 to 1-6 score line. 
In fact they proved too strong and skilful for all their opponents and it was no surprise that they won the competition.     
Aghaderg squad - Thomas Lennon (1-1), Kelin Doyle (1-8), Aaron McAvoy (3-2), Kieran Maguire (0-12), Michael Fitzpatrick (3-1), Tony Hegarty (0-5), Chris McAvoy (1-5), Chris Lennon (0-1), Rory McShane (1-4) and Shane Donnelly (0-1).   
This Sunday 29th September Aghaderg travel to St Johns to play Teconnaught in the semi-final of the championship, throw-in at 2.00pm and all support appreciated.