Match Report


Date Filed: 11 September 2017

Aghaderg completed their league campaign when they travelled to Ballykinlar on Friday night last for the rather early throw in at 6.30pm.
Due to work and other  commitments, manager Mark was short six players from the championship side that lined out against St Michaels. James McGrath, Aaron McAvoy, Louis Murray, Collie Comiskey, Ruari Conway and Ruari O'Neill were unavailable but this give a number of squad players an opportunity to impress.

Aghaderg won the throw in and dominated possession for the first few minutes but tended to over elaborate with the result that Ballykinlar went into an early lead as they scored the first point of the match. The reds continued to dominate as the midfield duo of J Lennon and P McGrath controlled  possession and supported the forward line where S Comiskey and C McAvoy were most prominent. Once the forwards found the range the scores came steadily. There were three goals in the first half from  M Fitzpatrick after good work by S Comiskey and P McGrath one from S Comiskey after good work by R McShane and one from J Lennon after a strong run from mid field. There were points from J Lennon(0-1) C Lennon(0-1) P McGrath(0-1) R McShane(0-2) C McAvoy(0-2) C McGivern(0-1) and S McCann(0-1) 

Half Time score: Aghaderg 3-9, Ballykinlar 0-4

The second half was similar to the first as the reds continued to dominate possession and scored freely. The bench was emptied in the third quarter  C Conlon for P McGrath, T Lennon for M Fitzpatrick, C Conlon for R McShane and C Connolly for C Lennon N McAlinden for C Davis.  S Comiskey scored his second goal of the evening while M Lennon was only on the field a couple of minutes before he finished strongly to the net. The final goal of the match was scored by S McCann to leave him with (1-1)  on his first start of the season. J Lennon(0-1) C Lennon(0-1) C McAvoy (0-2)  and G Donaghy(0-1)  completed the scoring for the reds as they signed off the season with a comprehensive win.

Full time score: Ballykinlar 0-8, Aghaderg 6-14.
Team: Paul Colgan, Ryan Strain,Gerard Rice, Ciaron Davis, Graeme Donaghy,(0-1) Christopher Lennon(0-2), Paul McGrath(0-1), Jonathan Lennon(1-2), Rory McShane(0-2), Michael Fitzpatrick(1-0), Conor McGivern(0-1), Christopher McAvoy(0-4), Stephen Comiskey(2-0), Steve McCann(1-1).
Subs: Thomas Lennon, Michael Lennon(1-0), Christopher Conlon, Ciaran Connolly.