Match Report


Date Filed: 10 June 2018

Aghaderg 3-14  Teconnaught 4-14
Aghaderg Senior footballers played out a thrilling Down All County Football League Div IV match against the league leaders Teconnaught last Friday night in the sun drenched Aghaderg GAC grounds.

The home team started well in the first half trading points with the league leaders before Teconnaught struck with two goals in quick succession. The Teconnaught centre half forward Tony Davis scored two unanswered goals, before going on to score 2-2 in the first half. The Reds kept the scoreboard ticking over before half time but went into the break down by 7 points.
It was a tale of two halves as Aghaderg came out in the second period with the bit between their teeth and started to show their own brand of running football. In a purple patch midway through the second half the Reds got themselves back into contention when they scored three unanswered goals in quick succession.
Two goals from Christopher McAvoy, who top scored with 2-8, and one from Michael Fitzpatrick brought the Reds back into contention which thrilled the large home support.

The game opened up as Aghaderg chased the win but a soft goal conceded in the last 10 minutes put the home side down by six, but with the never say die attitude the team have shown this year they came back at the league leaders again, scoring 3 points from play to bring them within one score of tying up the match.
Alas, it was not to be as Teconnaught ran out winners by 4-14 to Aghaderg’s 3-14

This Aghaderg team has certainly turned a few heads this year with their high intensity brand of football and it was evident again in this closely fought encounter. There was outstanding performances all over the pitch and the home crowd were once again entertained with open running football from the home team.
Well done to all the team, management, volunteers and visiting team for making the match such an entertaining affair


Paul Colgan, Ryan Strain, Thomas Lennon, Aaron McAvoy, Cailum Meara (0-1), Joe O Kane (0-1), Louis Murray, Paul McGrath (0-3), John Meara, Jason Meara, Michael Fitzpatrick (1-0), Christopher McAvoy (2-8), Rory McShane, Stephen Comiskey, Eugene Devlin
Mark O Kane, Graeme Donaghy, Chris Conlon, Gerard Rice, Stevie McCann, Ryan Donnelly, Ruairi O Neill, James McGrath (0-1), Connor McGivern, Niall McAlinden, Michael Lennon, James Noble