Match Report


Date Filed: 19 September 2019

Aghaderg won the Down Junior Camogie Championship title on Saturday in emphatic fashion.

They cruised to a 4-7 to 0-7 victory over Clonduff to bring back the title for the first time in thirty years.

It was Clonduff who opened the scoring with a well-worked point but after a solo run and a penetrating cross from Connie Rea, Sinead Brackenbury was on hand to finish to the net from close range. Aghaderg were starting to settle. Their half back line of Eimer McNulty, Claire Convery and Rachel Canniford alongside the midfield of Chloe McConville and Sarah Malone worked tirelessly to deliver ammunition to the Aghaderg forwards and this resulted in points from Caitlin Armstrong, Sinead Brackenbury and a well taken goal from Danielle Stewart who had ghosted in on the right hand side to blast home extended the locals lead. Clonduff broke up field to add a second point but Caitlin Armstrong added another fine point from wide on the right to keep the score ticking over.
Clonduff responded briefly with two quick fire points, but it was Aghaderg who finished the half strongly. Sinead Brackenbury added her second major with quick wrists from close range. Caitlin Armstrong added a further point from a free out on the left hand side. Caitlin Fitzpatrick then latched onto a long clearance from Claire Convery and she soloed in from the left hand side to finish with a cracker to the right hand corner of the net. That score gave Aghaderg an unassailable half-time lead of 4-5 to 0-4.

The second half was more a war of attrition with scores much harder to come by. In fact, it was Clonduff who got the first two points after the restart. Aghaderg responded well however, with some fantastic defending from our rear-guard of our half backs, Ciara McGovern in goals and the full back line of Maeve McQuaid, Katie Morgan and Rachel Bohan. The Clonduff attack was kept at bay.  Caitlin Armstrong then converted a 45’ free and followed that up with another fine point from play. Clonduff added another point but that was to be the end of the scoring and Aghaderg were able to cruise comfortably to the title.

Final score Aghaderg 4-7 Clonduff 0-7.
Aghaderg Team: Ciara McGovern, Maeve McQuaid, Rachel Bohan, Rachel Canniford, Claire Convery, Emer McNulty, Chloe McConville, Sarah Malone (Captain), Caitlin Armstrong, Caitlin Fitzpatrick, Moya Lavery, Danielle Stewart, Sinead Brakenbury, Connie Rea, Lucy McAvoy, Sasha McAvoy, Laura Fletcher, Andrea Fletcher, Aine McNulty, Eimear Conway, Katie Lennon, Katie Hughes, Catriona Martin, Caoimhe Morgan, Caitlin McGrath.
Aghaderg now go on to represent Down in Ulster with a Quarter Final match against the Antrim Champions , St Marys Ahoghill.

The game will be at home on Saturday 21st September at 2:00pm